Has anyone made a business out of the X-Carve?

I recently purchased the fully loaded X-Carve. I am thinking of many different ways I can utilize this product to start a business. I am curious if anyone in here has a business or started one by using the X-Carve?

1 Like

Can’t say I’ve “made a business” out of it, since I’m still working my normal job for my primary income, but I have managed to pay back my initial investment plus all software and upgrades very nearly three times over now. Something like 2.8x, depending on exactly how you calculate it. :smile:

My X-Carve is milling aluminum daily and turning a very good profit while doing it. I have weeks of milling orders stacking up and the X Carve does a good job of making a good dent in those projects with my other two mills. It is not a Tormach, but it sure is making the money to buy one one day. But I am still a full time sports photographer and not ready to walk away from my current employer just yet. For now the mills are saving up to buy some much bigger and better mills while the camera pays the day to day bills.
Most of my sales are custom video production gear, mounts, remote camera rigs and such. But one of my personal projects which I use the X Carve for is custom 3D printer parts. Here is a link to some of that milling. Production level aluminum milling with .8KW water cooled VFD - #47 by Travelphotog

That sounds like a good secondary income! I love something that can really pay for itself and then some! What sort of “products” do you create?

I added the xcarve to my business I already had started. It has expanded my client base. I don’t have any where near enough product going out yet. But it is paying for the monthly cc bill plus all the wood to keep it going. It is slowly paying itself off. My biggest problem is honestly time to cut and finish my stuff to sell. Lol job and family get in the way. Lol