Hellawell Custom's Project Thread

After seeing Stephen Cook’s projects thread I figured it was a good idea and thought I might as well do one myself. Keeps the forums clean posting all my projects in one thread instead of multiple posts! So here we go! I’ll update this thread as I go along!

What you can find here/About me

I purchased my very first Xcarve on September 10th. I am 23 and a Dad to be on January 18th! I consider myself a “DIYer” no real experience in wood working other than a few small projects I did for fun. I am an apprentice electrician and a licensed automotive technician. I love playing around with electronics. I mostly use my Xcarve to make wooden signs, Carbon Fiber switch panels for cars, Edge Lit LED signs, and soon portable bluetooth speakers!

9 Likes

Carbon Fiber Switch Panel made up for a customer. A simple design two 52mm holes for gauges and a toggle switch for fuel pump! I wanted to engrave Fuel Pump below the switch but the customer wasn’t 100% if it was going to be used for the fuel pump or not.

1 Like

Finished painting sign

1 Like

may kindly ask how the lighted spiderman logo is carved?

Ya for sure! I used a 30degree .006" engraving bit bought from dr!llman on ebay! I can’t say if its the best bit or not to use, as it was my first led sign, but it seems to have done the trick. I plan on doing quite a bit of LED signs so hoping to fine tune the process. I simply imported the design into easel and carved I believe I used 90ipm. I found the settings on another thread when I searched LED Sign.

2 Likes

I noticed Easel now has Cast Acrylic as a material. I’ll probably use that for the next one.

may i ask your design for my starter project?
if it’s alright with you.

Design for what?

design for the acrylic project.