Help: Fusion 360 Separate Tool Path Files

Folks, I’m trying to learn Fusion 360. I post-processed one of my setup files / tool paths… but somehow both files post-processed so there was no break for a tool change. Can someone tell me what went wrong? Just designing a geometric incense holder for practice.

1. Pocket clearing
  2. Parallel
    GCode --> incense1_8.txt (30.6 KB)

Not sure what happened. If you right-clicked on Setup2 and picked post process, it should have only generated code for that setup. Then right click on Setup2 (2) and post. IDK, You may have to rename the 2nd setup. I’m still learning Fusion myself.

What Phil said. The layered structure allow you to group different toolpaths, i.e one specific end mill but 3 different carve strategies in one Setup and finish/detail end mill in a separate Setup (or doing multi faced carves)
You can post process each layer or complete Setup or groups of Setups.

Your photo show Setup2 and [T2] Parallell2 (2) both highlighted? meaning any PP action will generate both.
The same would happen if T1 under Setup2 and T2 under Setup2(2) was highlighted when PP.

I am also just getting to know F360 and is has been a pretty steep uphill battle - but now that more and more falls into place I can see it is a very potent package.

1 Like

Follow up question: how do I make bottom left hand corner on top of my material my starting point?

I’ve tried to start this job a few times now, and although I think I figured out how to move the WCS to that point…

& follow up, I thought I understood G28. I don’t have limit switches so instead, I zero all three axes using Charley’s probe, raise the Z an inch, set G28.1, and then move it back down an inch. I read this somewhere on the forums… For some reason the bit went out to the left and then down past where my material would be and through to the waste board. :frowning:

Here’s the beginning of my gcode:

%
(1)
(T2 D=0.25 CR=0 - ZMIN=-0.525 - flat end mill)
G90 G94
G17
G20
G28 G91 Z0