Help! Not getting clean flush carve suddenly

Hello all,

I’ve been doing sign carves with the 60-degree V-bit from Inventables. Been using this bit for awhile and many signs with no problems.

Today I switched bits to a Whiteside 60-degree V-bit, 7/16 point length, 1/4” shank, 1/2” cutting diameter, 2” overall length. Seemingly identical to the Inventables bit.

However, instead of a usual flush surface in the carved areas, it’s has lengthy grooves. I measured both bits with a caliper and they are identical. But have never had this problem before.

The sign has three depths/layers: top surface of wood (uncarved, with letters), larger letters (seen with letter W in photo), and floor or lowest carve, completely flat.

Any ideas what is going on???

Thanks!
Michael

F3F34CA1-6F2C-4170-BA57-1FA5FE44C5BC

Check your stepover setting.

Neil, I’m still a newbie on that end. Even though I’ve been carving for a year, I’ve never had problems before where I change those settings. Where is the stepover settings?

I’m using Easel Pro, and I did make a new bit for the Whiteside, but the settings choices are just the cutting diameter and angle.

Thanks,
Michael

Machine --> Advanced -->

OK, thanks for pointing that out!

The stepover for V-bit is currently at 10%. Is there a general recommendation for a certain percentage? Why would this change suddenly? I’ve done this sign before and didn’t have a problem. That’s why I thought it was the bit.

I think 1% is the default. I don’t use Easel, so that’s what it was when I opened it up.
The previous but you used may not have had as sharp of a point. A V-bit with a flat tip will clear flat areas better.
I’d recommend using a flat bit to rough and then run the detail with the V.

1 Like

So my older worn bit was actually doing a better job! OK, I’ll put that bit back on, bump the stepover to 15% and have it run through again.

Thanks for the help!