Homing issues after assembly

I’m having an issue with Z axis homing after assembly. I’ve checked the wiring multiple times and the pots and dip switches are confirmed to match the instructions. I’ve even disassembled and reassembled the controller just to be certain.

When I attempt to home the Z-Axis, the motor does not stop when the homing switch is pressed. Any thoughts?

Did you go into the machine inspector and try the linit switch manually and see if it was working?

Sorry, should have mentioned that too. Yes, I did that. X and Y work normally. Z has no response. I decided to pull the Z switch and test it with the X-axis wiring. The switch worked, so I can rule out a bad switch.

Check wiring with a ohm-meter.

Sorry, but since I don’t know what I’m looking for, what should I be checking? What are the normal values?

It doesnt matter :slight_smile:
If the wires are broken you will measure no continuity, and if you measure any continuity they are good.

I’m new to all of this. I have my machine put together and I’ve checked the wiring and everything. When I go to setup, I can get to the homing sequence step and then it goes downhill FAST. The router goes all the way to the top and just clicks and bumps until I hit stop. The x and y goes to the back left corner and just keeps bumping until I cut it off. I didn’t use the right wordage I’m sure, but I am still learning. I’ve read so many forum posts and videos, but I just can’t figure this out. Any help would be so appreciated.

The most common problem I’ve seen with z-homing failing to stop for the limit switch is the wires go to the wrong terminals on the switch. Can you post a closeup photo of the switch wires? One of the terminals is common and the other 2 are either normally-open or normally-closed (and when the switch clicks they reverse that). Seems like inventables could have picked simple normally-open-only microswitches, but they didn’t…