How Best to Control X-Carve Using Linux?

I’m not an Inventables customer yet but I hope to be one real soon (and I’m a full-fledged CNC newbie BTW, so…). I would have already taken the plunge by now were it not for the fact that I will be using Linux as my CNC driver and it’s not at all clear to me at this point what my best option is for going forward. Perhaps a little about my plans is in order. As I alluded to in my initial post, I plan to be constructing what is essentially nothing more than boxes out of 1 x 6" lumber. This will involve such operations as making rectangular cut-outs, drilling pilot holes into frame boards (as well as their ends), cutting dado grooves and then separating each workpiece from the remaining stock… Initially, my work will be a matter of prototyping but if the X-Carve works out as hoped, it may evolve to include some light manufacturing as well. So, as mentioned above, an important component of my plan is that I’ll be using Linux to control the X-Carve. What I’m unsure of is what exactly I need to go this route. I’ve done quite a bit of browsing of the forums here and it seems that someone in my position can go multiple ways with this, one being to indirectly control the machine from Easel using the default Arduino in combo with a rPi and another being to use LinuxCNC in combo with a break-out board and separate stepper controller. I’m sure that there must be other options as well. So my question is, what is the best path for me to take and why? What other software should I consider? BTW, I do have a rPi that’s just collecting dust right now but I wonder if Easel is the right software for me. I played around with it some last night and being a CNC newbie, I don’t know if it’s the appropriate software to use or not. For one thing I’m unsure whether my use of CNC constitutes 2D or 2.5D work. All I know is I’m basically producing 3D parts from wood. For what it’s worth, I’m looking to purchase the 500mm X-Carve with the Z-axis ACME lead