How to carve a layered sign

As some have seen. I’m relatively new to CNC carving. My brother asked me to make a family sign for him I designed it and when I hit simulate it carved the depth of the deepest setting. How do I correct to accommodate the various depths that I set up

You need to split the overall design into different objects. If the entire design is one object it can only have one depth setting.

Depending on the design, it can easily be achieved by the Xploder-app in Easel, which break any non-contacting parts of a object into individual objects.

1 Like

Could you share your file?

I used 1/4" depth and then put lettering and symbols as an untouched depth

Here is one that I did a few months ago. Look at my depth and the bits that I used, It came out good

That’s like the ones I’d like to try but not sure of process with cnc

1/4 inch bit for the roughing and 90 degree for detail. Look on the third page in the Easel file that I shared.
I did the text in Easel so you can edit the text.

2 Likes

That is really awesome. Thank you. Any chance you could explain the process of how to get this as I am still in the learning stages of cnc

1 Like

Just make a box in Easel the size that you want and set the depth to .15
Then I typed out COX and put it in the center of the box toward the top at a depth of .05
Then I typed out Chris and Angie and put that in the center of COX at a depth of 0
Then typed out EST. MARCH 3, 2020, put it in the center toward the bottom and set the depth to .05
I used the hearts to fill up space and because they look good, set the depth to .05
Used a .25" bit for roughing and a 90 degree bit for detail.
Remember to set your Z height in the same spot on the material when you change to the 90 degree bit.
Practice using Easel and you will pick it up
I hope that helps
Good Luck
Russell

2 Likes

Thanks so much that seems way easier than than I expected it to be. I appreciate your explanation and time helping me understand

1 Like