If you knew then what you know now

I’m new to the X-Carve community and haven’t pulled the trigger on a machine yet. I’m looking for feedback on things you would or wouldn’t purchase when ordering your X-Carve and why. I’m leaning toward the 1000mm. Should I just start out with Easel until I’m proficient or go ahead and spend the money on Easel Pro? Any help, suggestions, advice is appreciated.

Stick with Easel until you’re comfortable with it.

I bought V carve desktop along with my machine because I refuse to be tied to the so-called “cloud” or the internet.
I want 100% control over my data.
The software is very intuitive and I have never looked back.
But,to each their own.

4 Likes

Lots have changed since I bought mine but I bought VCarve Pro with mine and have never looked back. Easel is good to calibrate your CNC and do quick carves but I agree with what JanVanderlinden said.

2 Likes

Easel is free, Easel Pro is free for 4 days per month, so without any additional cost you have a complete program ready to use. Which other programs that may work for you depend entirely on inteded use and which platform you are on (Win/Mac)

2 Likes

Like everyone is saying Easel is a great tool to get started. But if you are serious about making great designs buy Vcarve Desktop today (you can upgrade to Pro later). The Xcarve is a very capable machine and can do amazing things, but without powerful design software the entire process of designing and carving can be very frustrating.