Introduction/Assembly Advice

My name is Nicholas Krenning. I’m a 3D Designer at a structural engineering company and teach drafting/design at a local community college here in Denver, CO. I’m a certified Autodesk Inventor user with many hours of experience. I look to run either Inventor with the addition of the HSM add-in or Fusion 360. I come from a construction background and have had odd-jobs in the past in which I’ve ran CNC routers for other companies (worked at a few signage companies).

Introduction aside, I can’t begin to describe how excited I am to get my X-Carve and get started. I just ordered the 1000 x 1000 kit with most of the bells and whistles. I’ve already fiddled with Easel and it seems too easy. I really wish to devise a system for seamless integration between 3D parametric programs and our X-Carves (If anyone has any questions about Inventor or Fusion 360, please don’t hesitate to ask).

My main question: What are some things I should look to do/upgrade during the assembly phase of the build? Like any other building process, its better to address these things in the beginning. I would love to hear some suggestions on assembly “must-do’s” and other tips and tricks. Thanks in advance!

Spend the next 6-8 weeks reading here on the forum. Use the search function, there is an unbelievable amount of information here. For specific questions or problems, there are alot of knowledgeable people here that will help with just about anything. Read through the instructions before you start it will help you be familiar with the machine. There are several upgrades for the older model here on the forum it might even be a good idea to look through the old model instructions to see the difference,

1 Like

@PhilJohnson, @ChrisRice, Thanks for the prompt response! I’ve searched around this forum for a few days now, just don’t really know what to look for! :wink: