J tech Laser 2.8w or 3.8w and why

Ready to order the laser kit for my x-carve but only finding information and videos on the 2.8. I figure better to buy the 3.8 even though the 2.8 seems to do what I want to do with it so my question is what would be the major differences other than faster cutting time? can the 3.8 do everything a 2.8 could and more or will there be limits on the 3.8 that the 2.8 would do better? I am new to laser engraving and want to make sure I do not buy the 2.8 and need to upgrade later or waste more money on the 3.8 and not benefit from the extra power. Any help or info would be greatly appreciated. Thanks

2.8 is kind like a bit, it can cut smaller, finer detail. But it can also do larger. It’s just a little slower. The 3.8 is limited in that it can’t do finer details

Thats kind of what I gathered from it too and I will be doing mostly engraving and possibly pictures. I don’t think I will be doing a lot of cutting with it since I have the router for that. I thought maybe it would do those faster as well. In my forum searches I did see a 6w laser was still doing pretty detailed pictures so I wouldnt think too much detail would be lost at 3.8w but again I am completely new to this scene

RyanEdwards is correct.

2.8W 445nm: 0.01″ (0.25mm)
3.8W 445nm: 0.011″ (0.28mm)

From Jtech web site

Those specs are for the kerf width when cutting. We were getting a .005" burn line width when engraving photos with the J-Tech 2.8W and with our 6W custom build it’s .007". When moving at higher feedrates, the burn line width gets narrower. We can photo engrave at twice the feedrate with the 6W then the 2.8W, but there is a slight loss in detail because of the larger beam divergence. The divergence of the 3.8W is smaller then the 6W, but larger then the 2.8W.

@RyanEdwards

We have not tried one, but you should be able to laser engrave detailed photos with the 3.8W.

1 Like