Jumping in to X-Carve, where to start?

So I’ve been contemplating a jump in to an x-carve for over a year now. I’m pretty set on making my order but have questions on pertinent skills to hone for a beginner. Are there any particular skills that I should look at sharpening or learning to venture in to the x-carve?

I know may way around graphic design (self taught) and I’ve spent a lot of time designing graphics for t-shirts. I’d like to start a small business at some point but other than loading up an svg into easel (or other software) I’ll be pretty lost. I’ve looked at the x-carve noob essentials thread and site and even that seems over my head lol. I’m willing to put the time and effort in, just really need an idea of where I might focus.

Any suggestions on starting points?

You are already ahead of me before I started a year ago. Dive in. It is a fun and exciting adventure

1 Like

Hi Timothy

I consider myself a newbie, so I understand where you’re coming from.

I’ve had my X-Carve for only a few months now, but I also went in without any experience or skills with CNC. It’s amazing how much you learn while assembling the machine, and this forum is a god send. I log in just about every day!

I started with basic 2D engraving, and have already sold some personalised serving boards and cake toppers.

I’m saving for VCarve, by Vectric, so that I can start on 3D carving. I have Fusion 360 but don’t like it very much. V-Carve is much easier to use, in my opinion.

One piece of advice I can give you is spend time to make sure your machine is square and calibrated. Do lots of test carves to see what the X-Carve is capable of and enjoy the ride!

1 Like

I just got vcarve. The learning curve is not bad and the tutorials are excellent

it depends on what you plan to use it for. I had no CNC skills but a good amount of wood working. I have no intentions to use this for 3d anytime soon. I make a majority of my money from small basic designs.