Kasey' X-Carve build thread!

I’ve seen allot of build threads for both tables and xcarve’s that gave me tons of inspiration so I figured I’d make my own! Hopefully I can gather some suggestions and feedbacks and maybe inspire a few other people!

I guess I could start off with a little bit about me and what I plan to accomplish with my xcarve. First off I’m 23 and I am a licensed electrician and automotive technician. Anything that has to do with electronics excites me! I plan to use the Xcarve to build custom switch panels out of carbon fiber plates for vehicles and portable bluetooth speakers. Basically anything where I can combine electronics with fabricating!

As for the build I ordered the Xcarve 2 1000mm. So I am still waiting to get my tracking information. I decided I would build a table to sit the Xcarve. My goal, something sturdy and cheap. I plan to add drawers and storage space underneath as I gain scrap pieces of wood.

I built the torsion box out of 2x2’s it measures 5 inches wide by 49 inches long. I added the extra 10" to fit thensideboard/xcontrollers. I didn’t buy enough 2x2s so I still plan on adding more braces I guess you can call them. The legs are doubled up 2x4s. And the boards going around the Xcarve I payed 80 cents for I beleive it was pine boards of some sort. I also forgot to mention I am no wood worker so pardon my skills if you see something wrong haha. I also have a sheet of 3/3 inch mdf that I plan to glue on to the top. Here is a question. Is it actually beneficial to add a 3/4 inch sheet on the bottom as well? Is it really worth buying another sheet to do it?

Also I looked into leveling casters and they seem to be pretty expensive. I think I’m gonna go and build my own levelers.

4 Likes

The way you’ve done your top, I don’t think another sheet on bottom will be much benefit. I’d put that mdf on top then put a 1x4 around the edge to dress it up a bit and keep the top nice and flat