KTM Hand Guard clamp

I lost a clamp on my hand guard on my dirt bike last summer. I decided it was time to replace the zip tie I was using to hold it on. This is my first project from design, to cam, to g-code and then carving in easel.

Everything turned out good. The finish was a little rough, but 2 minutes with a file smoothed it right out. I used an old plastic (UMHW maybe?) cutting board I had bought for another project. This really got my juices flowing. I used Fusion 360 to design the part along with the cam. I post processed it and then imported the g-code into easel.

John Saunders from NYC CNC on youtube was a big help on this project for me. I watched a ton of his videos and he does a great job of explaining F360. I would definitely recommend watching his videos for anyone interested in F360 or machining in general. His videos are easy to watch, quick and to the point. I usually have to watch a few times because he is so quick.

Top is my part cut out, the bottom is the original one from the other side.

Jason

3 Likes

Very nice, it is always good to make something you need.

1 Like

Nice, makes me wish my kid was still racing motocross

1 Like

Thanks Erik! This is part of the reason I bought the x-carve. To make some one off parts and things I don’t want to buy off the shelf. Of course this is $1 part, but for me going from thinking about what I needed, to designing, to carving is the exciting part.

1 Like

Today it is saving you a buck, but in time it can save/make you many more. Off to a damn good start!

1 Like

Thanks Kerry! I think I may be done with motocross. This last season I had a serious get off on a double. Broke a couple ribs and dislocated my thumb. I was very lucky my friend was behind me and stopped on the jump to keep people from jumping on me.

I will only race GNCC from now on I think. That is the plan until MX season gets here this spring and I get the itch again.