Liquid Dispensing

Hello Community,

I am a prospective user, and so, let me begin by saying I have limited experience with 3-D carving in general; please take mercy on my ignorance.

I recently joined a startup in SF looking to produce high volumes of molded candies. Essentially, we want to automate the injection of a warm candy fluid into thousands of smaller candy molds, since right now we’re doing them by hand, which desperately needs to change.

I was attracted to this Inventables because of its high accuracy movement and part adjustability, as well as what looks like flexible software. What I want to do is essentially replace the spindle mount with a mountable high-viscosity pneumatic fluid dispenser. The molds are all held in the same plane, and so the injector would really just need to move up and down a few centimeters between the molds, and then horizontally across a grid for the dispenser to inject.

Looking at the software, it seems like it could still be used to achieve this pattern pretty easily, though instead of a mounted spindle, it would use a mounted fluid injector. I came here as one of my options because relative to 3-d printers, this seems like a more affordable option with a pretty good history of part and product troubleshooting. We’re a small company with very limited funding, so creative solutions needed.

If this sounds possible, or you have any advice or suggestions, I would be happy to hear them.
Thanks all!

Phill

Conceptually, it seems fine. You could even use the spindle-signal output to control your pump. Obviously, Easel won’t work, but there are many other solutions out there.

So yeah basically in theory the x-carve would work for this

some things to consider would be

weight of dispenser
software to control it
height of the molds

personally I would probably hand write some custom gcode to suit your needs in this case it would be pretty simple imo