Losing USB connection ONLY when carving AL-Plastic-Al sandwich

Hi,
I got X-Carve with X-Controller and DeWalt 611 spindle for about 1 month and I’m still learning.
Lately I came across a strange problem - got a 2mm thick aluminum-plastic-aluminum sandwich and the machine
losses usb connection at random while carving it. I can hear motors clicking like when initializing at first start,
and windows says usb connection to device lost.
Ths is happening only while carving this material - no problems with wood, acrylic or plain aluminum.
The same g-code runs flawlessly on other material or whit spindle running but with bit raized in the air and not touching the material…
Thought that this material could be acting as a capacitor so I grounded all axises with copper wires, also the spindle body and the both aluminum sides of the material - didn’t help.

Did you come across this problem? Can you give me an idea what esle dispite static charge can bug up the controller?

Thank you,
George

I would try to ground the aluminum to the chassis as well. I sounds like you are having an electrostatic discharge that is knocking out the USB. I encountered the same type of disconnect when I made a plasma table and mounted a plasma cutter with a pilot arc system. Every time the torch would ignite it would knock the USB connection out, to solve (never got it 100%) I got a longer USB cable and grounded everything. I got it where it would cut about 90% of the time but even then every once in a while it would still knock the USB offline. So make sure everything is grounded including the work.

Thank you Kenneth,
Yes, I grounded the work - both sides. The only thing that is not grounded is the bit, the shaft and the rotor of the spindle.
Maybe I try to ground them with some kind of brushes.
Next thing I’ll do is to wrap the spindle power cord with aluminum foil