Machine not cutting perfectly aligned squares

HI Gents,

I’m picking up some issues with my X carve not cutting perfect little squares. I recently bought a small laser engraver and is busy cutting a waste board for it, but my results are somewhat disturbing.

I have checked the accuracy of the movement of my machine with the Vernier and 200mm left and right movement and its perfect.

I have double checked the G-codes and they are 10mm increments as required. I have the x-axis stiffner pieces in, thus i have very little if any deflection in my X carve.

What can this be? What am i Missing?

I drew the waste board in Sketch-up - just for interest sake.

Try doing a group of squares in easel, just to make sure you don’t have issues w\ the imported file.

If it still persists you look like you are missing steps

HI Darryl,

Thanks i’ll try that.

Any advise to resolve those 2x problems?

I’m not a sketchup expert, but the grid looks pretty straightforward to replicate in Easel. Have you tried opening the file (assuming SVG) and zooming in to make sure the lines are perpendicular / parallel.

As for missing steps, check the pulleys, grub screws (if not press fit), belt tension.

Thanks,

I will check these suggestions. Much appreciated.

Curious question,

If the lines are not parallel, would the Gcodes not change? They are all within the 10mm increments.

HI Darryl,

I have now cut the sample squares with Easel. Seems fine.

Sorry for the mark in the one, looks like a little birdy got into my wood store.

The second picture was me drawing straight lines and the first pic were individual squares.

Bottom and right side seem to step, every other square.

Are you cutting some on path and others outside? looks like it might just be cut settings in Easel.

Clearly better than the file you were using, there must have been some problems with that file.

HI Darryll,

I was cutting on the path. Looks like it could be the file i used.

HI Robert,