Making woodtype for letterpress

Hi everyone :slight_smile:

I’m planning on opening a letterpress workshop. I’ve been wondering how I could come back to the origins of this printing method and by origins I mean woodtype ! Even though I’m new to the CNC world, it’s seems like the X-Carve would be a good tool for this project, but because it’s quite specific I would like some advices from the community !

I can’t use -the traditionnal- end grain beech wood at the beginning so I was thinking maybe plywood (S/BB grade) because it’s seems to work great when used in letterpress printing. I’m quite confident that the X-Carve would do the job when carving large pieces of woodtype, but my big question was about full pieces of design : is the machine precise enough to carve small details and text on plywood so that I can render perfect transmission of the ink when printing ?

Does any of you have some king experience with small caracters and even, raised small caracters ? I know it can be made with laser engraving on soft and hard wood (cf. attached file) but I’m wondering with X-Carve and plywood !?

Also to transfer ink properly and evenly, I need my form to be smooth/well sanded at type high, which is exactly 23.3 millimeters (0.9186 inch), but I’ll probably receive 24mm plywood, I believe I can do this with the X-Carve surfacing bit right ?

Thanks a lot for your intel & Love from France !

Laser letterpress 01
Laser letterpress 02

In my opinion you would be better off with a laser for that small print. And with using plywood you are going to have some chip out that will be noticable.

2 Likes

With plywood you will 100% have chipout issues even with details 10 times larger!!

I suggest a medium density hardwood like walnut and for even less chipout, use end grain as this grain structure will produce the most strength.