Manual gantry control while the X-Controller is on

I am new to the X-Carve and only have had it up and working for a couple weeks and have used a 2 axis CNC Machines before.
The biggest problem that I have had is if something happens while I am carving and it stops or I have to hit the stop butter on the front of the controller, I can’t find a way to raise the Z axis so I can get the piece of stock out of the machine.
And to be able to move the X and Y axis.
Has anyone been able to build a box to do this but still doesn’t effect the computer control?
I know that I can power cycle the X-Controller and then have access to the carve homing process.

Thank’s for any help on this.

If you’re using Easel, when the system is powered up, just click the ‘Carve’ button to gain access to the axis control buttons on the right side. You can then jog your spindle around as you like. When done, just click the X on that window to close it if you’re not ready to carve.

Yes, I know about the Carve button. I was hoping someone had figured out a way to write a VB script that would allow you to control the jog independently of the Carve button or even the Easel app all together. Or built a box to tie into the X-Controller that would have manual buttons on it that would move the spindle if you lost USB connection. On the tables that I have used in the past they had the manual buttons. It is worrisome to hear that there isn’t a shunt circuit to protect the controller from the movement of the gantry by hand. But thanks for the heads up!!!

Search for ‘pendant’ in these forums. People have already created what you’re looking for.

There is no solution to wire push buttons to control the stepper driver/X controller. The only solution for me would be through the USB communication (Easel or UGC) or moving the whole gantry by hand

There would be a way to manually move your gantry but it would require some custom wiring.