Material location

Hey guys I’m new to the x-carve, got it built and it did the initial test piece but I tried my 1st real project and after setting the spindle to the lower left corner and hitting begin, it takes off to random locations, instead of the material to be cut. Any real suggestions? I’m lost here

Need more input on your workflow to guess less :slight_smile:

Can you share your project? (Easel - Share - Public - copy URL and click save, post URL here.)

2 Likes

I found out its not project specific, I’ve tried just a simple circle with tech support on the phone and it didn’t work. the spindle takes off randomly instead of staying within the boundaries of the wood. I did several air test runs where the spindle wasn’t even on or lowered and it just goes to its own destination.

Like @HaldorLonningdal said, if you give more information and more details, it will help solve the problem.

Is it really random? If you repeat the same project, do you get the same results?

…and do the bit return to the starting point? (except Z with is raised to the specified safety height)
Do a 2" jog command result in 2" of actual travel in the direction specified?

Ideally - for us - a video of your work flow and machine behaviour would help tremendously also, posting on youtube is very convenient :slight_smile:

random may not be the best word, I haven’t moved my material so each project is on the same size material and corner is the same. it returns to the corner of the material but depending on the project when I switched it, it went to a different spot. I’m just trying to get 1 project done…ugh.thanks for the reply’s guys.

it does seem to be accurate in its movements, distance wise.

Does it look like it’s moving along the same toolpaths but in a different location?
Are you using Easel?
How did you set your work zero?

it follows the design in easel that its suppose to be cutting, not sure what the work zero is, sorry I’m a newbie