Mini mill cnc conversion

I did a harbor freight mini mill to cnc conversion with arduino and grbl 1.1.
Using the universal gcode sender software I can move the machine without issue. I am new to cnc in general so easel pro is very simple for me to make quick designs and go on my x-carve. I am trying to get easel to work with my mini mill conversion.

I home the machine (i install stop limit switches) no problem in the machine setup wizard.
after finishing the setup I change the working area to 8 inches (X) and 4.5 inches (Y).

I setup a block of 2x4 wood for testing.
I zero the machine manually
I placed a square and circle on my design as a test.
I even did my starting point at middle center

every time I attempt a “carve” after homing and zero the machine head (bit) moves about 1.5 inches down on the Y and about the same to the left (X).

I know it is unsupported by inventables, but for the simple carves I would like to do on the mill easel would be so easy to use if I can get it to work.

I am a hobbyist and do not want to learn Fusion 360 for what will be simple cuts.

Does anyone have any idea why after setting zero the machine would move forward on Y and to the left on X about an inch or two every time?

Thank you for any help.

I wonder if your work zero and machine zero setting in Easel is in a different spot than what you think it is? I don’t use Easel, but I use UGS. For simplicity, I’d just design in Easel and use UGS with the gcode it creates…but I see your point for a one stop operation.

Grbl v1.1 Configuration · gnea/grbl Wiki · GitHub

What do you mean by this?

Zero in Easel needs to match zero on your workpiece.