My computer is not picking up the x-carve

I have read much of the discussions on the forum. I have tried many of the suggestions and still am unsuccessful. I reloaded EaselLocal (3.2) and the arduino (1.8) software, reattached the gshield to the arduino, checked Device Manager to find the COM number and it is not showing up. So, my computer is not recognizing the X-Carve and/or Easel. I am new to the cnc and am totally at a loss.

One other thing, when I put the machine together I didn’t wire the limit switches to the control box.

Could someone please give me some advice and maybe walk me through getting up and running. Thanks in advance.

Jim

XController or Arduino/Gshield?

Each controller appears as a different device inside of Windows.

If you’re using the XController, you need to search for the FTDI USB drivers to install. The XController has an board USB chip that the Arduino doesn’t have.

Thanks, I have an arduino and gshield. None of them are showing up.

Just a matter of a check, make sure that your ''red panic stop ‘’ button on the x-controller box is fully pulled up. I had the same problem until I realized that my ‘‘red panic stop’’ . However I had to reload Easel from the beginning to finally got it going…

Thanks for the recommendation. I have an older version. I don’t have a Panic button. I got my machine in Aug of 2015 and am just now putting it together. Sorry for any confusion.

Have you tried removing the Gshield and just connected the Arduino only to see if it works?

I removed the gshield from the arduino and the arduino is working but when I put the gshield back on I loose connection. What is my next step to check?