My first CNC - feedback please

I am contemplating purchasing the 1000mm X-Carve and would like to hear from owners of the newest version of the X-Carve or older ones that have been upgraded. Are you glad you made your purchase? Is there anything you would do different if you knew then what you know now? Can the Easel software be used to create truly detailed carvings with significant depth? Thanks in advance for sharing your knowledge with a complete newbee.
Rob

Hi Robert…

Short answer… Yes. Buy it. Learn it. Enjoy it.

Longer answer… Like you, I spent months reading this very forum and researching online, and I kept coming back to Inventables and the X-Carve. They were able to take a complex CNC tool and make it easy for the “average Joe and Jane” to assemble, learn about, and start a new hobby that months earlier was not even on my radar.

Not one regret is had by myself and I have only had the machine for a month or so… I am certain you will read up on others that have done amazing things with their machines.

I am not sure exactly what you mean by “detailed carvings with significant depth”… but assuredly, Easel is proving to be an amazing tool the more I use of it and seems to be updated with new features on a regular basis. When you are comfortable and ready to move on to more complex software, those options will be ready for you as well.

The only suggestion I would make… Is read up as much as you can. Read the forum. Read the support pages. Go through the assembly instructions. It will seem a bit daunting at first but soon enough you will understand and things will start to make sense.

Whats the expression? “A thousand mile journey starts with one step…” well, today is your first step.

Good luck Robert! See you on the forum.

Ron

1 Like

you really can’t beat it for the price. I was dreaming of getting a shopbot or another affordable machine… then this popped up and it was a no brainer.