My first impression about the Carvey/Easel by one who knew nothing of CNC a month ago

Hello Everyone,

I would like to just express myself about the Carvey and Easel, the free software that comes with it.

First, i would like to mention that i have no background in using any CAD software nor using CNC machines.
So, being completely unknowledgeable in this domain makes me a NEWBIE (in gamer terms)

When i first saw the Carvey on youtube, i was very excited by the possiblities and the power that this machine gives
to it’s owner. Imagination is “almost” the limit!

As a complete neophyte, i receive my machine much quicker then expected and started using it immediatly.
It worked flawlessly right out of the box, no issues, very user friendly. Perfect for the old guy (myself) and my 9 year old son.

It’s been 2 weeks now and i’ve been playing with it, testing different things and i did watched Samantha video seminars
(Very nice by the way!). I’ve started to feel some limitiations creeping in as i’m moving toward more complex design and builds.

About the machine itself, the only thing that bothers me is the “smart” clamp that is apparent in the EASEL software
as a big red L shape, that prevents you from working in there… So, reducing the ACTUAL usable size to 9"x7" instead
of the 12"x 8" that is advertised. There is maybe a way to circumvent this somehow but i am unaware of it.

I personnaly think that the smart clamp should have been positionned outside of the work area, leaving a full 12"x8"
of work space. I’ve seen this done on other CNCs so, my guess it’s just a design mistake or they tried to implement 2 things in one, Clamp and depth checking device. Anyhow, i’m not fond of it and it think it should be revised in futur iterations of the machine.