My project isn't carving as set up in easel

So, I am currently making a small sign as a test run and my carving is shifted to the right and up from where it shows on Easel. I set X/Y zero to bottom corner of the material, used my z-probe and when it started carving, I could tell right away that it wasn’t carving where I wanted. Luckily I had intentionally left space around the border to serve as both a place for the clamps and also to act as a border as the project has an inlay. I actually had to pause carving, turn off the spindle and remove a clamp, otherwise the bit would’ve chewed right through it! I am still letting in finish, as it does have wood to work with but it’s not at all centered.

Hopefully someone can tell me what I did wrong! I am a newbie so forgive me :slight_smile:

What machine?
How big is your stock?
How far off were you?
Is the carving the correct size?
Can you share your Easel project?

1000x1000 is the machine. Stock is 12"x8"x.75", several inches I’d fathom. The carving seems to be correct. I’ll try to share.

Also, it didn’t cut very cleanly. A lot of fuzzies. Also, uneven in spots but this may be due to me having to relocate a clamp.

What is the material you are using? Also welcome to the forums.

3/4" Birch Plywood, and Thank You Wayne!

That has nothing to do with the project being off but could have something to do with the uneveness and fussies.

You have to share the project publicly.
File–>Share–>Share with Link–>SAVE

Exactly how are you setting zero?

Hi Neil, that’s how I shared it above.

As for setting zero. I move the spindle manually (jog) over to the bottom leftmost corner during the pre carve routine, as instructed. I use my touch plate as well at that point. Do I need to change the setting where you can choose home location with the 5 dots? I am fairly sure I have it set to bottom left.