Need advice for my first project: TinyG controller box

Hi guys. New member here. I’ve been trying to get into CNC machining for several months now, and for various reasons I seem to keep hitting one wall after the other.

Perhaps the biggest problem is that I just don’t know very much about electronics; I’m actually a computer programmer so the idea of being able to program a machine to bring the ideas out of my head into the the real world appeals to me greatly, but I just don’t have very much knowledge or experience with the finer points of electronics.

I’ve been trying to get the TinyG working, but somehow managed to burn out my power supply. Well, after finding the clear and easily understood instructions for connecting the TinyG to the QuietCut spindle, I went ahead a bought a bunch of stuff from Inventables, including both a 48V power supply (for the spindle) and a 24V power supply (for the TinyG). I am currently drawing out schematics for a control box to neatly and safely house everything.

However, it just occurred to me that I might not need to use the the 24V power supply at all (yeah, I know, pretty obvious in hindsight), and leaving it out would significantly reduce the size of the box (and perhaps somewhat reduce the complexity of the wiring). I can see two possible ways of doing it, and I’m not sure which one is better - or if either is even safe:

1)I plan to include several computer fans in the case - one for the TinyG and one for each power supply. If I use two 12V power supplies and wire them up in series with the TinyG, drawing off the 48V power supply, that would avoid the need for any extra hardware. However, I’m not sure if that would provide the TinyG with an appropriate and stable supply of power?