Need advice

My friend is wanting me to make some nametags that are approximately 1.5 to 2 inches long and about3/4 inches tall. It should say Made by Mel. I have a 30 degree .1 mm vbit and a 70 degree and a 60 degree. My attempts have failed. Is there any certain font i should be using or a certain depth i need to carve the words??? Thanks in advance

Start with explaining why they failed. What about it failed?

The letters were so small and blended together but I am sure that is because it is so small. When i put the 30 degree .1mm vbit in and set it to cut .01 in, it said it would take an hour to cut. I am using the xcarve alura font. I just want the words barely carved in the wood just enough to read them

Can you upload a pic of what happened?
When you’re doing detail that small, your Z-zero needs to be perfect and you should really be facing the stock first. Are you taking the flat on the engraving bit into account when you zero?

Don’t understand what you mean by taking the flat on the engraving bit into account when i zero. Sorry for my ignorance. I am just wanting a simple shallow lettering.

“Taking the flat into account” refers to the fact that anything other than a true v-bit doesn’t come to a point at the bottom, but rather a very small flat surface. You need to account for that, when using such a bit, when carving extremely small detail.

so do i need to adjust the depth of cutting to allow for that?

the bit i am trying to use to get the detail letters is 30 degree/.1 mm