Need help with image processing

Hi guys,
I’m currently developing an easel app where I have to get the pixel-data from an uploaded image. My problem is, that all common ways to get this are not working, because easel apps run as a web worker and this way have no access to the DOM.

The image vectorization app therefor runs an AWS Lamda function, but I have no experience with this and an AWS Lamda account does cost.

Does anyone know a solution for this?

Also I Thought that it might be helpful to integrate some image functions like getting the pixel-data into the app-development api, because I think I am not the only one that gets to this problem when trying to work with images in an easel-app.

I haven’t played with the easel API yet, but maybe this?

Try using something like this

//
// gets the file contents from the server after it has been uploaded
//
function loadFile(fileName) {
//console.log(fileName);
var xhr = new XMLHttpRequest(); // to get the file after it has uploaded
xhr.open(‘GET’, fileName, true);

xhr.onload = function(e) {
if (this.status == 200) {

var str = this.responseText;
    processTextStringToSVG(str);
   }

};

xhr.send();

}

// Define an executor function that generates a valid SVG document string,
// and passes it to the provided success callback, or invokes the failure
// callback if unable to do so
var executor = function(args, success, failure) {
  var params = args[0];
  var selectedVolumes = args[1];
  successFunction=success;
  failureFunction=failure;

var fileName;

if ( typeof params["Offset File"] != 'undefined' ) 
   {
    fileName= params["Offset File"];

if (fileName.length > 0 )
     {
      loadFile(fileName);
     }
   }
};

notice I cache the success and failure functions for use later.

I too had the issue with AWS etc, but then realised they were probably just running a program on the server that did the image processing, rather than running it on the web client.