Need Help with some CSI - Carve Scene Investigation

Full disclosure, I’m a noob with the x-carve. I just put it together last weekend and am just starting on my journey of making some things. I’ve enclosed some pictures of my 2nd carving project (the first being an MDF based project). There are several issues I’m hoping to get some advice on.

First the setup.
1/4 inch 2 flute bit. Used previously on MDF for about an hour.
.050 in depth increase per pass.
30 in/min feed rate.
Spindle speed 2.5 on DW 611.
Material: Poplar.

Image immediately after carve.

The first issue is relatively minor as it’s easy to clean up, but I’m wondering about the large amount of fuzzy strands clinging to the upper edges of the cuts.Is this an indication of improper spindle speed? Dull bit? feed rate?

The next issue is burning of the wood. I assume the spindle speed is too high? But maybe again it’s a dull bit after an hour of use on MDF? What’s interesting is the burning mostly occurs when the bit is moving in the y direction but almost no burning in the x direction as seen below.

The next issue I noticed was the bit becoming miss-aligned when it’s raising and lowering, resulting in a gouge in the wood. Once the bit starts moving forward again the misalignment goes away. This is the worst gouge, but it occurred in several places. In this instance the up and down travel was a result of placing a cut out tab.

The last image shows the bit with obvious signs of getting hot. Was it spinning too fast or was is it dull?

At this point I’m greedy. I’m looking for setting that will allow the fastest cuts, best quality and least amount of wear and tear on the tools. I suspect there will have to be some compromise somewhere.