Need Some Assistance Please

Hi!

Ok I’m still learning and have run into another issue :frowning:

When I ordered my X Carve I added in some bits and they cut smooth and fine. Then I bought some more bits from the guy on eBay that most were talking about and my cuts weren’t smooth so I thought it was the wrong type of bit. So I put in one of my original bits from Inventables which cut fine and the same issue occurred as with the eBay bits. So I’m guessing it’s not a bit issue but a machine issue. Possibly out of alignment in some way?

I’ve attached 2 somewhat poor pics but they should convey the issue - any thoughts? The carves are ‘groovy’ as you can see and far from smooth.

Hey Phil,

Well no movement in the router in really any direction. So I’ll start looking into calibrating. Do the stepper motor pots change/adjust that easily where it carves poorly like this? I’ve done probably under 25 carves so far.

Can you point me to where the maintenance section is located?

How far in are you putting the eBay bit.in the router? The inventables bits, I believe, have a piece on them to stop them from being inserted all the way in.

Check.to.make sure the bit is not all the way in.

Thanks Phil. I watched many of them very helpful. Still learning :slight_smile:

1 Like

Hi - yes the bits I bought are have the stop pieces on them. But still a good point. Thanks

After watching the maintenance video I ordered a fish scale to check the belt tension…so good call. Thanks

1 Like

Alight I have an update. I bought a fish scale and my belts were loose so I set them at the 3.5lbs per the video in the trouble shooting area. That did seem to help the craves. I also found that my “Step Over” setting was at 40 which is way to much so I put it at 20.