New to CNC - I don't know which product is right for me

Hi! I’m brand new to CNC and woodworking in general. I bought a scrollsaw a short while back and got totally hooked. I’d like to get a CNC machine b/c I would like to add some more detailed design elements, some machined cut-out pieces, and engraving… and I would also like to make metal yard signs (more details below).

I’ve got my selection down to 2 machines - the X-Carve or the Shapeoko 3 XXL. I have read almost all of the comparisons - but many of the responses are above my “pay grade”…so I’m hoping someone will be willing to dumb it down for me a bit. Which would be best suited for someone new to this craft and for the types of projects I’m interested in doing?

Also - can someone give me a really honest rating on how difficult these machines are to put together?

Project/machine capability questions:
What type of metal is the most commonly used for custom signs - like this http://www.grizzlycustomsteel.com/family-last-name-sign-cowboy-art-western-art/
I know it says “steel” - but what type of steel and at what gauge?

Can the X-Carve and Shapeoko 3 XXL cut this type of steel? If yes - can they do so out of the box or do they need modifications? What type of bit would be required for this type of work?

Thanks so much for any information you can provide that will help me make my decision and start working on all of the projects I have in my head!

From what I read on these forums, typically the hardest material cut using the X-carve is aluminum. (Someone has attempted to cut stone with it if you search). I have yet to try aluminum myself.

I believe it is mild steel, in whatever thickness you desire. And I don’t believe the X-carve would be a good choice for doing that. Most effective would be a plasma cutter.

Find a metal fabrication shop in your area and see if you can get a tour. I did and all it cost me was a $20 for a bar of aluminum. They have some really neat (and big) toys!

2 Likes