New to the CNC world and have a question

I am brand new to the CNC world and would like some direction to the following…
I am starting up a photobooth rental company and would like to purchase an x-carve to make my own props to use in the booth and maybe eventually make these props to sell to others with the same need. I was wondering if the x-carve could possibly handle this task and what software I would need to use to accomplish this. The props I would like to make are 3D and have some depth to them such as the example in the following picture. Photo Props Picture

Any help will be greatly appreciated.

1 Like

The X-Carve hardware can certainly carve those types of shapes. The area where you will need to focus is on the software. Do you plan to design the 3D shapes yourself? If so you will need 3D modeling software and the software to generate tool paths from the model that the X-Carve can use.

To create complex 3D shapes you would need a program like Fusion 360 Fusion 360 | 3D CAD, CAM, CAE, & PCB Cloud-Based Software | Autodesk

Fusion 360 provides all the tools you need to create the 3D model and to generate toolspaths for the X-Carve.
Fusion 360 is free for hobbyist, but if you plan to use it for commercial purposes then the price is about $40 per month.

The downside is that learning to use Fusion 360 can be difficult especially if you do not have any solid modeling experience.

If you plan to obtain your 3D design from others (in STL file formats) then all you need to do is create the toolpaths (Gcode) for the X-Carve.

There are several software tools that can do that, Vcarve and Meshcam are the two most popular, These can be used pretty quickly since they are very user friendly. Vcarve Desktop is $350 and Meshcam is about $250.

Hey Scott -