Newbie: A Few Questions Before Purchase

Hi Everyone,

I can currently afford the basic package with the 1000mm rail kit (I’ve been saving up a year!). Will I really be able to be fully functional with this order? What else should I budget for (tools, vacuum, etc.)? I want to do very basic stuff (cutting .25" plywood) for starters.

I’ve been lurking on the forum for a while now and couldn’t find a newbie FAQ, and there don’t seem to be many threads asking the basic questions about how to prepare for ordering an X-Carve. If you know of any threads you can send me, please do!

I’m a total newbie with CNC. I have some knowledge of working with large Epilog laser cutters and I have a background in graphic design. Any help you can give me is greatly appreciated. I apologize in advance if this has ben asked before, I really tried searching before starting this post.

Thank you.

Save a little more if you need and purchase the X-Controller. With the money you save from the parts it replaces, it only winds up being an additional $125.00, or right around there. I’m doing my first cut with it right now and I can already see and hear the difference… Much smoother and more power to the stepper motors.

If you get the basic package with a spindle and at least a starter pack of spindles then you will be able to start carving as soon as you complete the assembly and tuning.

You will need a least a small shop vac to keep from being buried in sawdust, and you will need some tools to cut your material so that it fits in the work area of the X-Carve. You can pick up a cheap table saw for about $100 at Harbor Freight. You will also need sandpaper and stains and poly to finish your projects.

I also recommend you get some safety glasses and hearing protection and a fire extinguisher.

1 Like

Hi Keddy, thanks for the heads up on the x-controller. I’ll do some more reading about that.