Newbie here - question about maximum thickness of wood

Two quick questions - what is the thickest piece of wood I can put on the xcarve and have it cut all the way thru? For example if I am wanting to make a cutting board.
Second - what is the thickest piece of material I can put in the xcarve and engrave a logo. For example I have a customer who has a very thick cutting board that they their logo engraved.
Thank you!

I might be wrong because i do not have a stock z axes but i think you can get about 2.25" under the stock z. As far as how thick you can cut all depends on how long a bit you have. You can slide a 2" thick piece under the z but you will need a bit long enogh to go clear thru or you will need to flip it and cut from both sides which can be a bit tricky. Also welcome to the forums.

It kind of depends on the bit length and usable space under the Z axis. You can engrave with a shorter bit, but would need a long bit to cut through. I bought an amana bit that was a little extra longer with a 1/4" shank but I use that in a dedicated router jig, not the xcarve.

It looks like you have 65 mm of space, assuming the Z is above the X extrusion.

You can buy aftermarket riser plates to gain more height. They are quite handy as are the Y axis stiffeners.

https://inventables.zendesk.com/hc/en-us/articles/360012452474-What-is-the-maximum-size-material-that-can-be-carved-on-an-X-Carve-#:~:text=Basics%20See%20more-,What%20is%20the%20maximum%20size%20material%20that,carved%20on%20an%20X-Carve%3F&text=An%20assembled%201000mm%20x%201000mm,to%20fit%20into%20the%20machines.

2-27/32" being the clearance between the 1/2" waste board and the bottom of the x carriage, is the absolute limit on my 750 and 500 mm machines. Subtract 1/4" on the 1000mm machine because it uses a 3/4" waste board.