Noob here - How should I move my x-carve manually?

This kinda feels like a daft question, but I’ll ask it anyways.

I’m just getting started and after the few test pieces I have carved, I’ve sometimes needed to move the spindle out of the way to mode the material in or out. As far as I can see, I should go back into Easel, hit Carve, and then use the jog buttons to move the machine. Is this the easiest way? Am I missing something?

Thanks in advance for your answers.

The easiest way is turn off power to the motors and simply push the spindle slowly with your hands. There is a slight possibility that you can fry your controller board from the current the motors generate when you push them. But if you move the spindle slowly the risk is minimal. I moved mine by hand all the time with no problems.

Of course the best practice is to always use the jog controls to move the spindle under motor power the way it is designed to be moved. There are several advantages to this method. The biggest is that the controller does not lose track of the X/Y location of the spindle. It is also a good habit to learn to always use the jog controls so that when/if you move up to a larger machine you will be accustomed to moving it correctly.

1 Like

Hi Bob, thanks for this.

Could I use a tool such as UGS open at the same time as Easel, and use the sender as a way of moving the spindle around, and then just use Easel to design and Carve. I don’t think I’m ready to design and carve from within the UGS just yet…

No, you can’t have UGS and easel both connected at the same time. When one is connected the other will be unable.

My preference is UGS for everything, but in easel the best method is the one you’ve mentioned, click carve and jog from there…

Thanks Darryl.

I’ll stick to Easel while I learn more about the machine. Appreciate your guidance!

Stuart

That’s probably a bad example. You have to manually move the printer head on mine to level the bed, and you do it often.

1 Like