Noob questions before buying

I recently won a gift card to inventables from a local raffle, and I’m a complete beginner to both CNC and the X Carve. I’m more of a traditional woodworker, so I have experience there, but not on a CNC. So I would like to garner some advice on what to get. I’ve been doing some digging on the forums trying to find out some details, but I would like to see if anyone has any additional input. I see mostly using this for wood, maybe making some metal parts here and there for some projects.

Currently what I am looking at is the fully loaded package, minus the waste board (shipping is killer and I have a friend with a full sized CNC that can cut one for me). Any recommendations on accessories or upgrades? So far I have only planned on a solid state relay for turning on the router.

Also, is the X-Controller worth upgrading to? It seems to be a marginal cost, but does it add much for that cost? From what I can tell it offers a bit more in power and neatness than the standard. Can you operate an add on laser with the X Controller?

Any additional advice you can throw my way would be appreciated. I’m excited on what I can do with the X Carve and want to make sure I can get the most out of it!

The X-Controller is really worth it. The reliability and better connectors alone make it worthwhile. But it also allows easy addition of a touch probe and control signal for your spindle relay. Plus your wiring will look much neater.

Also get the Nema 23 motors, the extra power they provide is a huge improvement.

Last of all you need to get the Acme rod for the Z axis. It will really make your Z-axis work much better.

You will also need to order a .25 inch collet for the Dewalt 611. Having .125 and .25 collets allows you to use a much wider range of tools.