Noobie here w/ 1000 x 1800 from the aviation community :)

Hello everyone! Name is Nic from the Austin TX area. Purchased the X-Carve last week to avoid massive delays from our 3rd party suppliers of cockpit panels and other similar things. I’ve been reading and learning so much from everyone and have even made a purchase from the X-carve community! This is my first experience with CNC and i’m still pretty new using CAD (Self taught on Draftsight Pro) so i’m sure i’ll be asking MANY more questions that are pretty obvious to everyone else. As you can see, I went ahead and ordered the 1800 rails right off the bat and will be doing all the stiffening mods to make sure all my cuts are spot on. You’ll also notice the 3 Axis Auto zero from community member Charley who was willing to go above and beyond to help me out!

Just started to get the belts on and added some heat shrink to keep everything locked down tight. It’s still loose on the other side so there’s no tension right now.

4 Likes

Nice ! I love large CNCs You will have to support X axis right away I bet you can bend it with your hand like a bow.
Also man I could very much use hangar for all my work you sure will not trip over things like I constantly do !

I think you mean the Y, but yes, I plan to stiffen them both up. I need to be sure i’ve taken out as much error as possible with the larger size. Aircraft owners can be extremely picky on fit and finish (Understandably).

build some bracket to support the Y rails.

2 Likes

Welcome to the community, fellow central Texan! I live up in Leander.

There are a couple of us in central Texas as well - out of Temple.

That’s awesome! I may have to come pick your brains and check out your machines in action! I live in Cedar Park but i’m building the X in Taylor where the shop is.