Not the correct depth

Having problems carving out a sentence with all the words at the correct depth. I’ve made sure the material thickness is accurate, the Z axis is accurate, nothing is warped (waste board and material), the table and material is leveled but nothing worked (please see attached picture). The words on the picture is facing the X axis (6 o’clock position of the table). The words “Let us run with endurance the” is not carving at the correct depth, especially “Let us run with” as it seems to skim over certain areas and not carve correctly. I’m not tech savvy and so I’m trying to understand. Can any please help?

Thanks!

I’m using the recommended depth per pass at 0.06 in.

Clamping forces may induce height differences relative to the bit which is ultimately the reason why this is happening.
I bet that if you scoot over to the beginning of the line and lower Z so it touch, then do the same over at “endurance” it wont be at the same Z-height.

These type of carved dont leave a lot of margin for error, only minute height differenced (relative to the bit) can cause large visual discrepancies.

1 Like

I have the same issue with rough stock from time to time. Cover up what cut correctly and re carve the areas that need it. When setting your Z set it in the area of the text that did not carve correctly.

1 Like

Another possibility is related to your V bit.

It is entirely possible the tip of your V bit may be broken, lending to missing parts of a carve, especially at a depth of .06". Or you may have set the depth of cut (flat depth) too shallow. (Not sure if that option is available in Easel. I use Aspire/V Carve)

V bits work by adjusting the Z height to achieve the thickness of the line as desired.
If the tip is broken off, on very thin lines, the bit will not contact the workpiece properly.

Try to either lower your depth, or try it with a new bit.

1 Like