Notification of completed job

I was wondering if it could be possible to add a message (E-mail or SMS) to warn us that the job has finished. Often, I start a job and run back in the house (too cold to stay in the garage in a Chicago Winter), and would like to know when a job is finished carving.

LOL - Angus, its has taken me a long time to get to this point to just watch it burn… :frowning:

I’ve put a Raspberry Pi in my CNC shed as an Ethernet to wireless bridge so my Linuxcnc computer can be accessed from the house. I have a camera module in the Pi so I can stream video of the running job to wherever I am - just in case.
Not running yet as I’m working on dust control first.

Angus, yes, I have WIFI that is reachable from my garage. I don’t think it would be to hard to add a little bit of code to send the message. I have a Bosh Colt as my spindle and waiting for a relay to automate my spindle.

Im just starting out, so I have only worked with Easel. Do you have any recommendations?

Very interesting, I was thinking of doing that with a Arduino nano. What flavor of Linux are you using? Im with you on the dust control, I been looking around to get a shoe, but I saw one that kinda caught my eye. Linn from the Darbin Orvar channel uses an X-carve https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NYe4zA_Qx1M. I have a Bosh Colt so Im going to start on the dust collection this week.

On the Pi, I just run standard Raspian. Camera module control is in python.
On my Linuxcnc machine used to control the X-Carve, I run an older version of Ubuntu.
I have the Pi set up as a bridge which is connected to a small switch so i can use other ethernet connections should the need arise. The Pi connects via wifi to an access point in the house.