Polycarbonate cutting tips

Just doing some homework and looking into getting one of these machines… I make fishing lures for a living. I need to cut some small polycarbonate cranking lips. Say max is 1 inch x 1.75 inch max and in varying sizes. Most thicknesses will be 1/8th inch but will do some in 1/16th… Plan is to get a big sheet of polycarbonate plant it to the table and cut out as many small lips as I can get from the polycarbonate sheet without waste… How easy would this be to set up in easel. I’m attaching the similar shapes that i will need. I think the best setup would be to pick one of those sizes on easel then flip the next one opposite next to it and on down the line to minimize polycarbonate waste. I’ve never done any programming in my life but I know my way around a computer for everyday use… Tips? tricks? bits? speed? passes? or anything that will be of help. etc

Mike

For something like this you might want to look into a laser cutter, you would have less waste with the kerf of the laser vs an endmill. Your set up would be much easier on a laser as well, no lifting or side forces on the parts. Cutting large sheets of thin plastic on a mill can be tricky since you need very good hold down.

If you wanted to mill it I would suggest a vacuum table or double sided tape and a downcut endmill.

1 Like

You can save material by packing like parts.

You could also buy a 3D printer and print with Polycarbonate filament.

good feedback… so you really think I’d be better off with a lazer vs the x carve?? is there a economical lazer cutter?? I wouldnt have a problem with using smaller sheets of polycarbonate?

LarryM that is exactly what i meant on placing them one up and one down… Was hoping to get them closer together than your picture illustrates?

Thank you guys for the feedback…

Yes, that picture was just to illustrate the point.

Larry do you have any info on cutting polycarbonate with the x carve for what I need it to do?