Precision collet jamming [SOLVED]

I purchased the 1/8" precision collet for the Dewalt 611 with my X Carve. This is the one sold only on the X Carve configuration page, and not elsewhere on the site. Every time I have used it, I cannot remove my 1/8" bits without first removing the collet nut and then putting a wrench on the collet itself to remove it. Basically, I have to (forcefully) pull the entire collet out of the 611 in order to release my 1/8" bits.
Does anyone else have this problem?

1 Like

@SteveLittlepage

I have had this same problem but there is a fix what you need to do is take the collet and push it into the collet nut until it snaps and this will seat the collet and pull the collet out of the dewalt arbor everytime you loosen the collet nut

5 Likes

Thanks. Now I feel kind of like a total newb. Let’s see if that helps with some of my runout issue as well…

@SteveLittlepage

oh yeah no worries lol I was banging away on my X-carve trying to figure out how to get the bit to come out and then i did that and hell i called it a night enough pain for one night lol

1 Like

I appreciate this thread, I didn’t know this either and had the same problem.

1 Like

I was just typing a net topic as I searched and did not find this thread. Thanks for the info, I was having the same issues!

1 Like

Thanks! I had this exact problem and previously had to pry my bits out of the collet with a screwdriver. SO glad to find this solution!

1 Like

me 2 - hope it works!!

so I am confused what was the final thing that solved the problem?

Pushing the inner part of the precision collet into the outer part until it snaps into place. And yes, it fixes it.

Here are the instructions on the Think and Tinker site.