Purchase and upgrade questions

I am considering buying an X-Carve and would like some help with a couple questions I have before I jump in. I have been reading the forums and have a couple questions that I have not seen direct answers to. First a little background about myself and what I intend to use the X-Carve for. I am a hobbyist woodworker and love the capabilities of the of the X-Carve that I have seen so far. I am also very comfortable with electronics and wiring and not intimidated by the assembly process at all. With that in mind I am hoping that I can get some answers to the following questions:

• I would like to start out with the capability to handle 4’ pieces in the X direction. What additional parts would I need to make that happen?
  • As a follow up what is the best way to stiffen the support rail for the x axis?
  • I see several people saying they wished the supplied wires were longer to allow more mounting options for the power supply. Is there any reason I could not provide my own wiring allowing me to modify the lengths to meet my needs?

Thanks for any help you can give.
Craig

You better call or email directly Inventables. You need more than rails. Belts, cables, Grbl settings. They can give you specific information. Last discussion I remember was, they were saying we can’t cut rails or maker slides for custom size.

No problem. I bought everything from Inventables as this was my first CNC machine. Just wanted to make sure I had the bases covered.

With that said, I bought my own wire to extend the power supply away from the machine. I added two feet to each dimension called for in the instructions. I wish I had added more.

For the stepper motors you can use 18/4 shielded security wire. I also bought some 18/2 shielded security wire for the spindle (I got the stock spindle, but they don’t sell that anymore because there were lots of problems). You can use 22/2 shielded security wire for the homing/limit switches.