Recommendations from Guitar Makers Required

Hey guys / gals!

I’ve been dreaming about an XC for a few years now. I’m moving into a position to purchase one and would like to hear from any guitar builders out there as to what’s possible w/ the machine and what software is needed (also limitations of software and so forth for the applications listed below).

The main reason for writing is that I want to order the right ‘package’ and any auxiliary ‘bits’ straight away versus ordering a default package from the shopping page only to have dreams dashed because I can’t do ‘a,b or c’ without buying more bits and pieces. In short, I’d like to set her up and get going right away (barring the obvious learning curve :wink: ).

My main goals to start would be able to radius fretboards, cut fret slots, create bound fretboards, put logos on headstock faceplates / veneers and so forth. Key instruments are acoustic guitars but I’d like to play with some electric builds as well.

As I’m completely green from this end of things, I’m curious as well as to what I can expect from the Easel. Will this allow me to do inlay work and radius fretboards / inlay headstocks? I’m leaning toward the 40mm unit for versatility - any default options I should skip in favour of others? Any ‘wish I had bought ‘x’ from the beginning’ opinions out there?

Thanks a ton! I need a ‘shopping list’ :).

Mike

There is a luthier section in the project category that should answer your questions I would think.