Resting x,y zero point

I’m extremely new to cnc. I had this issue twice now. When changing to smaller bit for the detail pass I moved the router when trying to loosen the collet. The first time I just went ahead and told the machine to use last x,y zero and it was way off. This time, remember how bad that was i manually reset the x,y zero and it’s still off by about 1/4 inch, which is probably about how much the router carriage jumped when i loosened the collet. The obvious question is what in the world do i do when this happens? I’ve been just leaving the bit a little looser so I didnt have to crank as hard to loosen it but for some reason this time it was tight again. Fortunately, the first time it happened I was able to just plane down the workpiece and start over. Unfortunately that’s not a possibility on this one so I’ll either have to scrap it and start over or maybe save it with some chisel or dremel work. Someone please help. If this topic has already been discussed I’ll gladly take a link to the discussion but I couldn’t find anything. Maybe wording the search wrong.

Do you have homing switches installed and enabled? If yes, did you do a homing cycle prior to setting your work zero and start carving?

If no, you dont have a known reference point.

Work zero is stored as an offset from machine zero, which is wherever the machine is powered on - until you do a homing cycle ($H). Only then will the design coordinates be in sync with the machine coordinates.

As work zero is stored as an offset, you could re-home (re-establish machine/design sync) and proceed within the precision of the homing switches.

Also - to prevent you from unintentionally shift position during tool change do the following:

• Set $1=255 (Step idle delay, 255=never)
  • Inside the Xcontroller box, red dip switch boxes, set switch#4 = OFF (When ON idle current is reduced to 30%)