Rough & detail cuts not matching up on Y axis

Hi newbie here, please go easy with me!

I’m trying to cut a logo onto cast acrylic with Easel Pro using 2 toolpaths, one rough (1/8" O flute spiral upcut) & one detailed (30deg pencil point engraving, 1/4" shank).
I set up all homes with the Z touching the acrylic surface, and cut the rough toolpath (t/p) which appeared fine, and then raised the Z, locked motors, changed bit, unlocked motors and lowered back to acrylic surface home and set the detailed run going.
It was then that I noticed that the Y axis path of the detailed t/p appeared to be about 6mm out from the line of the rough t/p.

The simulations and workpieces in Easel both look fine and the cut depths (0.3mm) of both look ok.

I accepted the default cut settings in Easel which were as follows:
Rough: FR 1016mm/min PR 304.8 mm/min DPP 0.8 mm
Detailed: FR635 mm/min PR 228.6 mm/min DPP 0.3 mm

I have attached a photo below, roughly marking the cuts as they are very difficult to photograph, the full word should say INVADERS.
Can anyone help put me right? Thanks for any info which can be provided.
Karen

What (and how) do you mean by lock/unlock motors?

When you changed bits, did the X carriage move at all when loosening the collet?

By using the lock/unlock buttons in Easel on RHS below XYZ direction buttons.

No, I was very careful as I had previously read problems with the motors and this.

Double check the spacing of the letters compared to the design. You probably lost steps somewhere.

Thanks for the suggestion, I obviously wasn’t searching for the correct words!
Not really understanding the intricacies of all this, but I will get there. I don’t understand why previous cuts (only a couple) have been fine though - I’ll give it a go tomorrow.

Should I change all 3 axis #4 dip switches to off, or just the Y axis?

Thanks for your patience.
K