Sketchup v. Easel PRO

Hello all, My apologies in advance. I’m new to CNC and have a long learning curve ahead of me. I bought an XCarve-PRO with the intention of starting a woodworking business. I have a question (likely a stupid one), for which I have been unable to find an answer.
I have ideas for furniture in my head and want to design prototypes. Once satisfied with the design, form, and function, I wish to mass produce using the XCarve-PRO. I want to use design software to save the trial-and-error process.
I am considering taking a Sketchup class, but before doing so wanted to ask: What design capabilities does the Easel PRO have? Do I need to design my pieces using something like Sketchup and then import those designs into Easel PRO, or can I do basic design in Easel PRO??
Also, if I need to use different design software, is Sketchup in fact the best way to go, or should I be looking at something else?

That of course should say “Sketchup v. Easel PRO” But I don’t know how to edit my post.

Do you have experience with any design software?
How do you usually design your furniture?

1 Like

I wouldn’t really consider Easel pro a design software. It has some really easy to use features and tools to design cuts on the XCP, but you’re certainly not designing a 3D rendering, sketch, or layout and then getting a cut list for it. I know many people use sketchup for design, but if you’re starting from scratch I would consider Fusion 360 instead of sketchup. Fusion has CAM capabilities and can actually generate gcode that can be directly imported into Easel to run the XCP.

1 Like

I do not. I am leaving a life in the corporate world to jump feet first into a woodworking business (foolish perhaps, but being now unemployed, it was either back to the grind, or follow my dreams). Thought I’d hop in here for some advice before learning the hard way.