Solidworks

Hi Guys,

I currently do a lot of 3D printing and Laser cutting. I work with many programs and as the title says my main Cad program is Solidworks. I just placed my order for the X-Carve and was curious if I was able to use Solidworks with it. As I am a newbie to CNC I am not sure, I’m guessing I can export it as a SVG but that never seems to export very well as far as curves. Any thoughts.

Brian

Hi Brian,

Thanks for ordering an X-Carve. To use Easel right now we only support SVG import. You can use Solidworks and another CAM package like HSM Works or similar and then export g code. You can then use a program like universal g code sender to send the g code to X-Carve.

I am using SolidWorks as well (just setting up GCode right now, for when my X-Carve arrives, and I am using MeshCAM to generate the code from the models. Everything works very smoothly so far, the code looks good, and the universal G-code Sender picks it up nicely.

… Can’t WAIT to get the machine, so I can start running this stuff! :smiley:

1 Like

I’m using Solidworks too and then into Mastercam.

My code simulations are looking good so far, I can’t wait to try it out for real ! :smile:

Cool, I’ll have to look into it. Anyone have any youtube tutorials?

I’ve been playing around with Solidworks for a few days now. Currently importing into Aspire (CAM) and then exporting as G code. I don’t know much about either programs so am having a lot of trouble with 3D designs. 2.5D is easy with aspire.

A couple of good resources for (paid) training tutorials in Solidworks -

I’d try Lynda.com first - Online Courses, Training and Tutorials on LinkedIn Learning

Digital Tutors have some great stuff available too - http://www.digitaltutors.com/software/SolidWorks-tutorials

Thanks David, bit Solidworks I’m ok with. Never used the Cam programs. CNC newbie :smile: