Start Position/Size Issues

Okay I’m a bit new to CNC Carving and not sure which Category to put this in.

I imported a SVG file (just a heart shaped outline) Added one of the Pro Fonts, (Had to do individual lettering (due to the style I wanted for positioning), I set the Depth of the Image and to where they needed to be, mostly 0" (I wanted the full outline of lettering.

I chose my material (red oak) I set the thickness 0.50", sizes 11.25" x 11.25", and choose my rough bit 1/8" double flute straight end mill (grey), and detail bit 1/16" down cut 2 flute fishtail (lime green).

I go through all the steps: Confirm Material thickness, Secure Material, Pass Type (Rough), Confirm Rough Bit (Grey) Confirm Detail Bit (Lime Green), Confirm work zero, Set X and Y at 0 position (at bottom left corner) set Z at 0 (bit touching board),

Choose “Use New Position” option. Go through the next 3 steps, Raise bit. Attach dust shoe, Spindle is on… Carve.

As it moves into position for the 1st carve, by eye I can see that it’s in the wrong position,

so I stop the program, and the Motor returns to the home position (Which is the position I began at). I back out of the Carve, reopen it and do it all again (Just in case there was a glitch in the buffer/cache). Go through all the steps above again. same thing, but I wanted to see what it was doing. Around the 3rd pass the machine stops moving and sits there, before I could go to the Computer to stop the program AGAIN, it begins to move, it plunges all the way through the material, backing and around 1/4" into the waste board, tearing a 3 inch groove as it went. I hit the e-stop button before it could damage anything else.

I

this is not the 1st time it has done this, but, it has been the most disastrous.

Funny thing though I almost always do a test run (Usually with Scrap or MDF to ensure and or Proof the carve).

And here is an mistake on my part (3/4" material, 1/2" bit depth)