Starting from center

Ok I think this was discussed before, but is there anyway to start the engraving from center of project?

I have cut out a heart shape to fit a chocolate box, and I now want to engrave a name and design inside of the heart. But really no way to do this without me starting in center?

Is this possible, or is Easel going to offer this in the future?

@RussBurke

yes when you select the desgin you can move it past the origin and you will see that the x and y axis numbers will change to the negative then you can fine tune the numbers from there to get it right in the middle

Hi OnThe Edge,

Thank you for the response, but I think I am lost to what you mean. Sorry I am still a bit of a rookie, only doing basic things.

@RussBurke

no problem I hope this picture helps you

6 Likes

You can visually line your artwork up by using the bounding box handles as they intersect the axes. The center handles are centered in the project, so once they line up with the X and Y axis lines you know you’re centered.

You can also select the center “domino” button, then type 0 for X and Y values, and it will automatically center the artwork on the origin.

4 Likes

So, are you saying that aligning the drawing with its center at Easel 0,0 and then setting your spindle to the center of your work piece will make it cut the full item? Seems clunky, but if it works that’s all that matters.

I like that VCarve allows one to set the work origin where the user wants; i.e., one of the four corners or the center of the work.

Yeah. It’s a little clunky. And it’s a workaround since Easel won’t let us define our own origin points. But as long as you see toolpaths when you hit “show toolpaths” it will cut them. If you want to test it out, go download something like Camotics which will visualize your gcode for you to make sure it is going to cut properly.

I have Camotics and use it occasionally. It’s a good package for testing.