Stop mid-carve and SMOKING!

So, I am new to the X-carve and all that it entails. Anywho, I was doing a small 40 minute carve (Halloween pumpkin & text, 1/4 MDF, 1/8 bit). The carve stops mid-way though and easel asks if everything turned out good or if something went wrong. I clicked “something went wrong” and it asked me to select what happened and I just clicked it away… convinced that I had to scrap it and start again. So I went back to easel and looked at the simulation at the bottom… I fast forwarded the simulation to where my carve stopped and clicked “carve” (the bit is still sitting exactly where it was when it stopped mid carve) so I RAISED the Z-axis (so that it wouldnt actually cut through and i could see it mimic - so id know if it was going to start all the way back at the beginning, or right where i forwarded the simulation to). I hit go and router stayed in place and DRILLED DOWN AND DOWN AND DOWN until it began to smoke and i hit the emergency stop… tried to lift up on the Z-axis - no go, the router had come off the track.
I got it all fixed up, there is now a charred hole in my waste board but other than that no visible damage.
What did I do wrong!?!

1 Like

Fast forwarding the simulation will not bring you to the point you want to start from. It is a simulation only. I haven’t used easel in a very long time but you would need to re-zero all 3 axis and start over from beginning. There are numerous threads about carves not completing. I would search through those to find a solution to your problem.

1 Like

@PatrickAScohy thanks for the reply. Yes, I had assumed the simulation wouldnt pick up where I set it… I had just hoped. I have sifted though many “mid-carve stopping” threads. I supose my question is more to the tune of “why did it start drilling down down down and bottoming out and start smoking out of nowhere?”