Suck It and Linear Z

The new Suck It dust boot has proven itself to work well with the stock X Carve Z Axis. However, it does not seem to fit a linear Z Axis, like the one I installed from CNC4Newbie.com. In looking carefully at it, there are 4 mounts that attached the Suck It guide rails to the X carriage. The slot in these mounts is designed so that it slides onto the X axis extrusion with .25 inch slots. The slot widens at a point to accommodate the guide rails, which are then held in place by a thumb screw. When looking at the mounts from the front of the X Carve, if the slot width was increased by an additional .25 inch, from the inside edge of the mountbtonthe point where it widens for the guide rail, the mount could then slide all the way into position, to allow mounting of the Dust Boot. The mounts are made from acrylic, approximately .5 inch in thickness.

Since I have no experience in acrylic, what would be the best way to increase the width of the mounting channel from .25 to .5 inches. The mounts are small, so mounting them somehow might prove difficult.

Any ideas would be appreciated.

Thanks for the info. I contacted the Suckit folks a couple of months ago and told them more and more people are changing over to these slides and that their system will not work on the new systems. They told me that they will look into the problem and get back to me and of course, they never did. The only way to get any action is if the owners of the modified systems contact them and show them there is a need for such a change to their mounting system. (The noisy wheel gets the oil).

I sent them an email yesterday evening. I will see how they respond today. The fix is rather simple, if you know what your doing, which I know I don’t. I’ve never worked with acrylic of that thickness before, so I don’t know hoe to widen the slot without breaking the mount.